Lock 25 Galop and Old Canals |N 44.50.32 W 75.18.25 | Iroquois, Ontario, Canada #
The ‘old’ and ‘new’ Iroquois locks at the downstream end of Galop Canal. The ‘old’ lock – on the right – was built in 1845. In 1897 the Galop canal was expanded and its locks widened to accommodate larger Great Lakes boats. The ‘new’ lock became – at 800 feet in length – the longest lock in Canada. With the construction of the St Lawrence Seaway in the 1950s, these locks were flooded by the upper reaches of Lake St Lawrence and replaced, a few hundred meters upstream, by Lock 7 which sits adjacent to the Iroquois Control Dam built across the river as part of the Seaway project. The village of Iroquois was moved north and one mile inland from its previously, picturesque location on the shoreline overlooking these locks.